MOH Member Registration

Description of MOH Leadership

​Mountains of Hope is governed by a Steering Committee. It is made up of twenty-two individuals representing the founding member organizations, MOH members, and others who help to guide the Coalition in the proper direction. Additional guidance comes from the leads of the subcommittees. They have a collective voice on the Steering Committee through a Subcommittee Liaison.
four people talking at a table   White Button Pledge sign and signed pledge forms on a wall   Allicia, Shelly two women showing the flags they drew that represent them in a networking activity

Steering Committee

  • Chair - Shelly Dusic
  • Chair-Elect - Abby Starkey
  • Chair Emeritus - Brandon Lewis
  • American Cancer Society Representative - Michelle Chappell
  • WV Breast and Cervical Cancer Screening Program Representative - Charlene Hickman
  • WVU Cancer Institute - Mary Ellen Conn
  • WV Comprehensive Cancer Program Representative - Craig Bromley 
  • Agent of Hope Representative - Patty Davis
  • Prevention Subcommittee
    • Chair- Janna Thornsbury
    • Chair-Elect- Kathy Molnar
  • Early Detection Subcommittee
    • Chair- Ruthie Watts
    • Chair-Elect- Shauna Shafer
  • Quality of Life Subcommittee
    • Chair- Lauren Wright
    • Chair-Elect- Vacant
  • Coalition Facilitator- Summer Miller
  • Coalition Manager - Lauren Hixenbaugh
  • Evaluator - Dan Totzkay
  • Epidemiologist, Div. of Health Promotion and Chronic Disease - Megan Ross
  • Epidemiologist, WV Health Statistics Center - Birgit Shanholtzer


​The Bylaws of the Coalition provide guidance on its structure and implementation. Click here for the Bylaws.

Contact Information

Click here for a list of contact information for Mountains of Hope leadership.

Mountains of Hope, West Virginia Cancer Coalition, Collaborating to Conquer Cancer, woman and man at health fair table talking

Past Meeting Minutes:

Nomination Criteria

​In order to be eligible to hold a leadership position within Mountains of Hope, the member must meet the following eligibility criteria.
  • Chair-Elect - the member must have attended at least four (4) Mountains of Hope meetings.
  • Subcommittee Chair-Elect - the member must have attended at least two (2) Mountains of Hope Meetings.

Election Information

Before submitting a nomination, check with the person to make sure they are willing to serve if elected. Then email their name and contact information to Lauren Hixenbaugh at

Elections are held every other year for the Coalition Chair-Elect and Subcommittee Chair-Elects. Agents of Hope are nominated and elected as needed as their position has no term limit.